Sync mode is a user configurable setting which affects the way UBIK® client communicates with UBIK® server. More specifically, it determines when and how the client fetches/commits UBIK® content, or whether to have data communication at all.
Possible sync modes
There are several different modes in UBIK®. Here are their names and defined behaviors:
- Auto / Online: content is fetched/committed automatically. This is the default mode.
- Manual Commit: content is fetched automatically; commit only happens when triggered by users. This mode is never selected automatically by the client.
- Offline: content is only fetched/committed when triggered by users. This mode is automatically selected by the client when connection is lost.
Mode switch & indicator
In both mobile and desktop client applications, there are three buttons for switching between the different modes. These are located in the global topbar on the UWP client, or the navigation drawer in Mobile. Clicking one of them allows users to switch UBIK® to the corresponding sync mode.
Behavior on connection loss
If network connectivity is lost while the Client is running in Auto/Online mode, the client switches to Offline as soon as the next data operation (fetch/commit) is attempted. It then checks for connectivity every 5 seconds. Once the connection has been stable for 15 seconds, it automatically switches back to Auto/Online mode (usually 15-20 seconds after connectivity returns).


