Jump to: navigation, search

Difference between revisions of "Sync Mode"


(→‎Mode switch & indicator)
m
 
(2 intermediate revisions by the same user not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
−
Sync mode is a user configurable setting which affects the way {{UBIK}} client communicates with {{UBIK}} server. More specifically, it determines when and how the client fetches/commits {{UBIK}} content, or whether to have data communication at all.
+
Sync mode is a user configurable setting that affects how the {{UBIK}} client communicates with {{UBIK}} server. More specifically, it determines when and how the client fetches/commits {{UBIK}} content, or whether to have data communication at all.
  
 
== Possible sync modes ==
 
== Possible sync modes ==
Line 5: Line 5:
 
* Auto / Online: content is fetched/committed automatically. This is the default mode.
 
* Auto / Online: content is fetched/committed automatically. This is the default mode.
 
* Manual Commit: content is fetched automatically; commit only happens when triggered by users. This mode is never selected automatically by the client.
 
* Manual Commit: content is fetched automatically; commit only happens when triggered by users. This mode is never selected automatically by the client.
−
* Offline: content is only fetched/committed when triggered by users. This mode is automatically selected by the client when [[Sync_Mode#Behavior_on_connection_loss|connection is lost]].
+
* Offline: content is fetched/committed only when triggered by users. This mode is automatically selected by the client when [[Sync_Mode#Behavior_on_connection_loss|connection is lost]].
−
 
+
−
 
+
  
 
== Mode switch & indicator ==
 
== Mode switch & indicator ==
  
−
In both mobile and desktop client applications, there are three buttons for switching between the different modes. These are located in the global topbar on the UWP client, or the navigation drawer in Mobile. Clicking one of them allows users to switch {{UBIK}} to the corresponding sync mode.
+
In both mobile and desktop client applications, there are three buttons for switching between the different modes. These are located in the global topbar on the UWP client, or the navigation drawer in Mobile. Clicking one of these buttons switches {{UBIK}} to the corresponding sync mode.
  
 
<gallery widths="132" heights="103">
 
<gallery widths="132" heights="103">
 
File:client_syncmodes.png|Client sync mode icons.
 
File:client_syncmodes.png|Client sync mode icons.
 
</gallery>
 
</gallery>
−
 
−
[[Category:Client|Sync Mode]]
 
−
[[Category:Pages with broken file links|Sync Mode]]
 
  
 
== Behavior on connection loss ==
 
== Behavior on connection loss ==
−
If network connectivity is lost while the Client is running in Auto/Online mode, the client switches to Offline as soon as the next data operation (fetch/commit) is attempted. It then checks for connectivity every 5 seconds. Once the connection has been stable for 15 seconds, it automatically switches back to Auto/Online mode (usually 15-20 seconds after connectivity returns).
+
If network connectivity is lost while the client is running in Auto/Online mode, the client switches to Offline as soon as the next data operation (fetch/commit) is attempted. It then checks for connectivity every 5 seconds. Once the connection is stable for 15 seconds, the client automatically switches back to Auto/Online mode (usually 15-20 seconds after connectivity returns).
  
 
{{Hint|This automatic recovery only happens if the Client was already in Auto/Online (or Manual) mode when the connection dropped. '''If the Client is started or logged in while no network connection is available, it starts directly in Offline mode and stays there''', even once connectivity returns. It then needs to be switched to Auto/Online or Manual mode manually.}}
 
{{Hint|This automatic recovery only happens if the Client was already in Auto/Online (or Manual) mode when the connection dropped. '''If the Client is started or logged in while no network connection is available, it starts directly in Offline mode and stays there''', even once connectivity returns. It then needs to be switched to Auto/Online or Manual mode manually.}}
Line 29: Line 24:
  
 
[[Category:Client|Sync Mode]]
 
[[Category:Client|Sync Mode]]
 +
[[Category:Pages with broken file links|Sync Mode]]

Latest revision as of 08:13, 6 October 2026

Sync mode is a user configurable setting that affects how the UBIK® client communicates with UBIK® server. More specifically, it determines when and how the client fetches/commits UBIK® content, or whether to have data communication at all.

Possible sync modes

There are several different modes in UBIK®. Here are their names and defined behaviors:

  • Auto / Online: content is fetched/committed automatically. This is the default mode.
  • Manual Commit: content is fetched automatically; commit only happens when triggered by users. This mode is never selected automatically by the client.
  • Offline: content is fetched/committed only when triggered by users. This mode is automatically selected by the client when connection is lost.

Mode switch & indicator

In both mobile and desktop client applications, there are three buttons for switching between the different modes. These are located in the global topbar on the UWP client, or the navigation drawer in Mobile. Clicking one of these buttons switches UBIK® to the corresponding sync mode.

Behavior on connection loss

If network connectivity is lost while the client is running in Auto/Online mode, the client switches to Offline as soon as the next data operation (fetch/commit) is attempted. It then checks for connectivity every 5 seconds. Once the connection is stable for 15 seconds, the client automatically switches back to Auto/Online mode (usually 15-20 seconds after connectivity returns).

IC Hint square.pngThis automatic recovery only happens if the Client was already in Auto/Online (or Manual) mode when the connection dropped. If the Client is started or logged in while no network connection is available, it starts directly in Offline mode and stays there, even once connectivity returns. It then needs to be switched to Auto/Online or Manual mode manually.

See also