Last modified on 29 September 2026, at 13:28

Difference between revisions of "Sync Mode"

m (→‎Behavior on connection loss)
m (→‎Mode switch & indicator: trying to trigger refresh of image cache)
 
(2 intermediate revisions by the same user not shown)
Line 2: Line 2:
  
 
== Possible sync modes ==
 
== Possible sync modes ==
−
There are three/four different modes in {{UBIK}}. Here are their names and defined behaviors:
+
There are several different modes in {{UBIK}}. Here are their names and defined behaviors:
−
* Auto / Online: content is fetched/committed automatically;
+
* Auto / Online: content is fetched/committed automatically. This is the default mode.
−
* Manual Commit: content is fetched automatically; commit only happens when triggered by users;
+
* Manual Commit: content is fetched automatically; commit only happens when triggered by users. This mode is never selected automatically by the client.
−
* Offline: content is only fetched/committed when triggered by users;
+
* Offline: content is only fetched/committed when triggered by users. This mode is automatically selected by the client when [[Sync_Mode#Behavior_on_connection_loss|connection is lost]].
 +
 
 +
[[Category:Client|Sync Mode]]
 +
 
 +
== Mode switch & indicator ==
 +
 
 +
In both mobile and desktop client applications, there are three buttons for switching between the different modes. These are located in the global topbar on the UWP client, or the navigation drawer in Mobile. Clicking one of them allows users to switch {{UBIK}} to the corresponding sync mode.
 +
 
 
<gallery widths="64" heights="64">
 
<gallery widths="64" heights="64">
 
File:UI_Android_AutomaticMode.jpg|Auto / Online
 
File:UI_Android_AutomaticMode.jpg|Auto / Online
Line 12: Line 19:
 
</gallery>
 
</gallery>
  
−
== Mode switch & indicator ==
+
[[Category:Client|Sync Mode]]
−
[[File:UI_Android_ModeSwitchAndIndicator.png|thumb|alt=Mode Switch and Indicator|Mode Switch and Indicator]]
+
−
In the [[UBIK Client Basics#Navigation Drawer|navigation drawer]] of any standard {{UBIK}} client applications, there are three buttons for switching between the different modes. Clicking one of them allows users to switch {{UBIK}} to the corresponding sync mode.
+
  
−
In case users choose to download some content before switching to offline mode, the offline button will display the prepare mode icon until the download is finished.
 
−
 
−
{{Clear}}
 
−
 
−
{{UnderConstructionStart}}
 
 
== Behavior on connection loss ==
 
== Behavior on connection loss ==
 
If network connectivity is lost while the Client is running in Auto/Online mode, the client switches to Offline as soon as the next data operation (fetch/commit) is attempted. It then checks for connectivity every 5 seconds. Once the connection has been stable for 15 seconds, it automatically switches back to Auto/Online mode (usually 15-20 seconds after connectivity returns).
 
If network connectivity is lost while the Client is running in Auto/Online mode, the client switches to Offline as soon as the next data operation (fetch/commit) is attempted. It then checks for connectivity every 5 seconds. Once the connection has been stable for 15 seconds, it automatically switches back to Auto/Online mode (usually 15-20 seconds after connectivity returns).
  
−
{{Hint|This automatic recovery only happens if the Client was already in Auto/Online (or Manual) mode when the connection dropped. If the Client is started or logged in while no network connection is available, it starts directly in Offline mode and stays there, even once connectivity returns. It then needs to be switched to Auto/Online or Manual mode manually.}}
+
{{Hint|This automatic recovery only happens if the Client was already in Auto/Online (or Manual) mode when the connection dropped. '''If the Client is started or logged in while no network connection is available, it starts directly in Offline mode and stays there''', even once connectivity returns. It then needs to be switched to Auto/Online or Manual mode manually.}}
−
{{UnderConstructionEnd}}
+
−
 
+
−
[[Category:Client|Sync Mode]]
+
  
 
== See also ==
 
== See also ==

Latest revision as of 13:28, 29 September 2026

Sync mode is a user configurable setting which affects the way UBIK® client communicates with UBIK® server. More specifically, it determines when and how the client fetches/commits UBIK® content, or whether to have data communication at all.

Possible sync modes

There are several different modes in UBIK®. Here are their names and defined behaviors:

  • Auto / Online: content is fetched/committed automatically. This is the default mode.
  • Manual Commit: content is fetched automatically; commit only happens when triggered by users. This mode is never selected automatically by the client.
  • Offline: content is only fetched/committed when triggered by users. This mode is automatically selected by the client when connection is lost.

Mode switch & indicator

In both mobile and desktop client applications, there are three buttons for switching between the different modes. These are located in the global topbar on the UWP client, or the navigation drawer in Mobile. Clicking one of them allows users to switch UBIK® to the corresponding sync mode.

Behavior on connection loss

If network connectivity is lost while the Client is running in Auto/Online mode, the client switches to Offline as soon as the next data operation (fetch/commit) is attempted. It then checks for connectivity every 5 seconds. Once the connection has been stable for 15 seconds, it automatically switches back to Auto/Online mode (usually 15-20 seconds after connectivity returns).

IC Hint square.pngThis automatic recovery only happens if the Client was already in Auto/Online (or Manual) mode when the connection dropped. If the Client is started or logged in while no network connection is available, it starts directly in Offline mode and stays there, even once connectivity returns. It then needs to be switched to Auto/Online or Manual mode manually.

See also