Last modified on 24 September 2026, at 10:11

Difference between revisions of "Sync Mode"

m (→‎Behavior on connection loss)
 
(One intermediate revision by the same user not shown)
Line 3: Line 3:
 
== Possible sync modes ==
 
== Possible sync modes ==
 
There are three/four different modes in {{UBIK}}. Here are their names and defined behaviors:
 
There are three/four different modes in {{UBIK}}. Here are their names and defined behaviors:
−
* Automatic: content is fetched/committed automatically;
+
* Auto / Online: content is fetched/committed automatically;
 
* Manual Commit: content is fetched automatically; commit only happens when triggered by users;
 
* Manual Commit: content is fetched automatically; commit only happens when triggered by users;
 
* Offline: content is only fetched/committed when triggered by users;
 
* Offline: content is only fetched/committed when triggered by users;
−
* Prepare: if users have selected any branches before [[HowTo:Switch to Offline Mode|switching to offline mode]], this is the intermediate mode during the preparation.
 
 
<gallery widths="64" heights="64">
 
<gallery widths="64" heights="64">
−
File:UI_Android_AutomaticMode.jpg|Automatic
+
File:UI_Android_AutomaticMode.jpg|Auto / Online
 
File:UI_Android_ManualCommitMode.jpg|Manual Commit
 
File:UI_Android_ManualCommitMode.jpg|Manual Commit
 
File:UI_Android_OfflineMode.jpg|Offline
 
File:UI_Android_OfflineMode.jpg|Offline
−
File:UI_Android_PrepareMode.jpg|Prepare
 
 
</gallery>
 
</gallery>
  
Line 21: Line 19:
  
 
{{Clear}}
 
{{Clear}}
 +
 +
{{UnderConstructionStart}}
 +
== Behavior on connection loss ==
 +
If network connectivity is lost while the Client is running in Auto/Online mode, the client switches to Offline as soon as the next data operation (fetch/commit) is attempted. It then checks for connectivity every 5 seconds. Once the connection has been stable for 15 seconds, it automatically switches back to Auto/Online mode (usually 15-20 seconds after connectivity returns).
 +
 +
{{Hint|This automatic recovery only happens if the Client was already in Auto/Online (or Manual) mode when the connection dropped. If the Client is started or logged in while no network connection is available, it starts directly in Offline mode and stays there, even once connectivity returns. It then needs to be switched to Auto/Online or Manual mode manually.}}
 +
{{UnderConstructionEnd}}
 +
 +
[[Category:Client|Sync Mode]]
  
 
== See also ==
 
== See also ==
 
* [[HowTo:Switch to Offline Mode]]
 
* [[HowTo:Switch to Offline Mode]]
  
−
[[Category:Client]]
+
[[Category:Client|Sync Mode]]

Latest revision as of 10:11, 24 September 2026

Sync mode is a user configurable setting which affects the way UBIK® client communicates with UBIK® server. More specifically, it determines when and how the client fetches/commits UBIK® content, or whether to have data communication at all.

Possible sync modes

There are three/four different modes in UBIK®. Here are their names and defined behaviors:

  • Auto / Online: content is fetched/committed automatically;
  • Manual Commit: content is fetched automatically; commit only happens when triggered by users;
  • Offline: content is only fetched/committed when triggered by users;

Mode switch & indicator

Mode Switch and Indicator
Mode Switch and Indicator

In the navigation drawer of any standard UBIK® client applications, there are three buttons for switching between the different modes. Clicking one of them allows users to switch UBIK® to the corresponding sync mode.

In case users choose to download some content before switching to offline mode, the offline button will display the prepare mode icon until the download is finished.

Wiki Under Construction Start.PNG

Behavior on connection loss

If network connectivity is lost while the Client is running in Auto/Online mode, the client switches to Offline as soon as the next data operation (fetch/commit) is attempted. It then checks for connectivity every 5 seconds. Once the connection has been stable for 15 seconds, it automatically switches back to Auto/Online mode (usually 15-20 seconds after connectivity returns).

IC Hint square.pngThis automatic recovery only happens if the Client was already in Auto/Online (or Manual) mode when the connection dropped. If the Client is started or logged in while no network connection is available, it starts directly in Offline mode and stays there, even once connectivity returns. It then needs to be switched to Auto/Online or Manual mode manually.

Wiki Under Construction End.PNG

See also