Changes
minor denglish fixes
Sync mode is a user configurable setting which that affects how the way {{UBIK}} client communicates with {{UBIK}} server. More specifically, it determines when and how the client fetches/commits {{UBIK}} content, or whether to have data communication at all.
== Possible sync modes ==
* Auto / Online: content is fetched/committed automatically. This is the default mode.
* Manual Commit: content is fetched automatically; commit only happens when triggered by users. This mode is never selected automatically by the client.
* Offline: content is only fetched/committed only when triggered by users. This mode is automatically selected by the client when [[Sync_Mode#Behavior_on_connection_loss|connection is lost]].
== Mode switch & indicator ==
In both mobile and desktop client applications, there are three buttons for switching between the different modes. These are located in the global topbar on the UWP client, or the navigation drawer in Mobile. Clicking one of them allows users to switch these buttons switches {{UBIK}} to the corresponding sync mode.
<gallery widths="132" heights="103">
</gallery>
== Behavior on connection loss ==
If network connectivity is lost while the Client client is running in Auto/Online mode, the client switches to Offline as soon as the next data operation (fetch/commit) is attempted. It then checks for connectivity every 5 seconds. Once the connection has been is stable for 15 seconds, it the client automatically switches back to Auto/Online mode (usually 15-20 seconds after connectivity returns).
{{Hint|This automatic recovery only happens if the Client was already in Auto/Online (or Manual) mode when the connection dropped. '''If the Client is started or logged in while no network connection is available, it starts directly in Offline mode and stays there''', even once connectivity returns. It then needs to be switched to Auto/Online or Manual mode manually.}}
[[Category:Client|Sync Mode]]
[[Category:Pages with broken file links|Sync Mode]]
